HIS Sign CEO Christina Hammrich Attends Living Word Deaf Ladies Retreat 2013

retreat group photo

Christina Hammrich (far right) and friends pose for a photo during the Living Word Deaf Ladies Retreat 2013. Click photo to view larger version

The Living Word Deaf Ladies Retreat 2013 was held October 10-13, 2013, in Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina. HIS Sign CEO Christina Hammrich and several of her deaf friends and fellow ASL interpreters attended the event. The retreat’s mission is to provide a time away in the beautiful setting of God’s own creation, where each attendee can relax, be refreshed, and create fellowship with friends, both new and old.

One such attendee, ASL interpreter Katie Marshall, summed up the event’s commitment to spiritual re-awakening and discovery:

The Deaf Women’s Retreat: Live Like That, sponsored by Living Word Baptist Church in Lynchburg, Virginia, was a weekend I’ll always remember. Seventeen years ago, I was in Jamaica and met a girl who would turn out to be one of my dearest friends. This sweet friend taught me sign language through our friendship and is the reason why I interpret today. Without her, I would have never met Christina Hammrich (my BFF) and so many other wonderful people. At the retreat, I was so blessed to receive from her as she was the main speaker for the retreat. I will definitely be back next year and hope to bring more of my friends with me.

Below is a re-cap of the event, including a video of Pam Campbell signing the song, “Live Like That”:

For more information about the Living Word Deaf Ladies Retreat 2013, visit their Facebook page by clicking here.

This entry was posted in News and Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Make A Suggestion

